Land Facets of Alberta

Land facet models for Alberta represent unique combinations of 3 sub-models each representing terrain, climate, and lithology conditions which are considered coarse-filter representations of biodiversity under the ‘conserve the arenas, not the actors’ concept in conservation planning.  Sub-model represent 8 unique terrain facets based on combinations of wetness and solar radiation along with incised valleys, 8 climate zones defined by the annual heat to moisture ratio, and 5 lithology classes represented by 4 major bedrock geology eons (Archean to Sedimentary) that have eolian deposits (sand dunes) burned into the geology layer.  These 3 sub-models have been combined to represent different combinations of sub-models (e.g. 29 lithology-climate classes; 231 unique climate-lithology-terrain categories).